← Back to Blog
DevelopmentAutomationSEO

GitHub Student Pack: Free vs Trial (Checked Sept 2026)

I checked every hosting, VPS, domain and database offer in the GitHub Student Developer Pack against the vendors' own docs on 6 September 2026. Here is what is genuinely free, what is a timer, and what quietly lapses.

SPSantosh Paudel· September 6, 2026· 10 min read· 1 views
Table of contents

Short answer, checked 6 September 2026 against the official offers page and each vendor's own documentation:

  • Genuinely free while you stay a verified student: Appwrite's Education plan, Clerk Pro, Doppler Team, New Relic.
  • A timer, not a gift: Azure ($100 credit, 12 months, no card), Heroku ($13/month for 24 months, card required), MongoDB Atlas ($50 credit, code dies in 90 days if unused).
  • Free for one year, then it bills you: the Namecheap .ME bundle, which auto-renews at $15/year.
  • Gone: there is no DigitalOcean offer on the Pack page any more. There is also no free VPS in the Pack at all, and never a Vercel offer.

The table nobody writes

Every row below comes from the Pack page or the vendor's own docs on 6 September 2026. Where a vendor does not publish a term, the cell says so rather than guessing.

OfferWhat you getReal durationCard requiredWhat happens at expiry
Azure for Students$100 credit + free tiers of 25+ services12 months for the creditNo — page says "No credit card required"Email asks if you want pay-as-you-go. Decline and "your subscription and products will be disabled"
Heroku for GitHub Students$13/month, $312 total24 monthsYes — "a valid credit or debit card on file"Unused credit expires; card starts paying list price. Past participants cannot reapply
Appwrite Education2 projects at Pro-equivalent limits (~$40/mo value)"Until you graduate from GitHub Education"Not stated on their education pageNot documented publicly
MongoDB Atlas$50 in Atlas creditsCode expires in 90 days if not appliedYes — card or linked PayPalCredits burn hourly against usage until gone
Namecheap (nc.me).ME + GitHub Pages bundle + Withheld for Privacy, plus 1 free year of SSL1 year freeNot stated in their FAQAuto-renews at $15/year for the bundle, with 30 days' notice
Name.comFree domain on 25+ TLDs (.live, .studio, .app, .dev…)Pack page says free, no term givenCould not verifyCould not verify — their partner page did not load the terms
.TECHOne standard .TECH domain1 yearCould not verify (page returned 403)Could not verify
DigitalOceanNot on the offers page as of 6 Sep 2026

Two of those cells are the reason I wrote the page. Heroku's $13/month looks like the most generous hosting line in the Pack until you notice you must keep a live card on file for 24 months, and that credits do not cover paid third-party add-ons. Namecheap's free domain is real, but it auto-renews — the bundle bills at $15/year, which is more than a bare .me costs, because you are also renewing GitHub Pages setup and privacy.

"Card required" is the single most useful column

A card on file is not a scam. It is a different risk profile. Azure disables the subscription when the credit runs out; Heroku charges you. If you are a student in Nepal on a prepaid card, or anywhere a failed international charge is a hassle, that distinction decides which service you put your project on.

Three ways an offer ends, and only one is obvious

1. The clock runs out

Azure is 12 months. Heroku is 24. These are stated up front and are the easy case — put the date in a calendar the day you redeem.

2. The credit runs out first

More common. Azure's $100 is not $100/month. A single always-on B1s VM plus a managed database will finish $100 in well under a year, and then the whole subscription is disabled rather than throttled. MongoDB's $50 burns hourly against a dedicated cluster and can vanish in weeks if you leave an M10 running.

3. The vendor leaves the Pack

This is the one that catches people, and it is why I timestamp this page. DigitalOcean's $200 credit was the single most-cited hosting benefit in every "GitHub Student Pack guide" on the internet. When I checked the offers page on 6 September 2026, DigitalOcean was not on it. Secondary sources say the credit was retired in August 2026, but I could not find an official DigitalOcean announcement stating that, so I am not going to repeat the date as fact. What I can state as fact is what the offers page contains today: no DigitalOcean.

GitHub's own documentation is unusually candid here. Their troubleshooting page says "some of our partner offers for GitHub Student Developer Pack cannot renew" and that "most of the timed offers from our partners start once you set them up." So the Pack is not a subscription you keep. It is a set of one-shot coupons, some of which have already been used up by the time you read a two-year-old blog post about them.

Which limit hits you first

This is the calculation I actually run before choosing where to host something. It is two lines of arithmetic, but I got it wrong by eye on my first project, so now I run it. The burn figures are mine to choose — they are assumptions, not vendor numbers.

"""Does the clock or the credit end the offer first?
Vendor terms below are verified (6 Sep 2026). Burn rates are MY assumptions.
Run: python runway.py
"""
from calendar import monthrange
from dataclasses import dataclass
from datetime import date


@dataclass(frozen=True)
class Offer:
    name: str
    credit_usd: float        # total spendable credit; 0.0 = flat free plan
    monthly_cap_usd: float   # per-month credit cap; 0.0 = no cap
    term_months: int         # hard clock limit


def add_months(start: date, months: int) -> date:
    m = start.month - 1 + months
    y, m = start.year + m // 12, m % 12 + 1
    return date(y, m, min(start.day, monthrange(y, m)[1]))


def months_of_runway(offer: Offer, burn_usd_per_month: float) -> float:
    if offer.credit_usd <= 0:
        return float(offer.term_months)
    spend = burn_usd_per_month
    if offer.monthly_cap_usd:
        spend = min(spend, offer.monthly_cap_usd)
    if spend <= 0:
        return float(offer.term_months)
    return min(offer.credit_usd / spend, float(offer.term_months))


OFFERS = [
    Offer("Azure for Students", 100.0, 0.0, 12),
    Offer("Heroku for Students", 312.0, 13.0, 24),
    Offer("MongoDB Atlas", 50.0, 0.0, 12),
]


def report(offer: Offer, burn: float, start: date) -> str:
    months = months_of_runway(offer, burn)
    limit = "clock" if months >= offer.term_months else "credit"
    return (f"{offer.name:<22} {months:5.1f} months  "
            f"dies ~{add_months(start, int(months))}  ({limit})")


if __name__ == "__main__":
    # Self-check: these must hold or the arithmetic is broken.
    assert months_of_runway(OFFERS[1], 20.0) == 24.0      # cap bites, clock wins
    assert months_of_runway(OFFERS[0], 25.0) == 4.0       # $100 / $25
    assert add_months(date(2026, 1, 31), 1) == date(2026, 2, 28)

    start = date(2026, 9, 6)
    for burn in (5.0, 25.0):
        print(f"\nAssuming ${burn:.0f}/month of usage:")
        for offer in OFFERS:
            print(" ", report(offer, burn, start))

Output:

Assuming $5/month of usage:
  Azure for Students      12.0 months  dies ~2027-09-06  (clock)
  Heroku for Students     24.0 months  dies ~2028-09-06  (clock)
  MongoDB Atlas           10.0 months  dies ~2027-07-06  (credit)

Assuming $25/month of usage:
  Azure for Students       4.0 months  dies ~2027-01-06  (credit)
  Heroku for Students     24.0 months  dies ~2028-09-06  (clock)
  MongoDB Atlas            2.0 months  dies ~2026-11-06  (credit)

The Heroku row is the interesting one: because the credit is capped at $13/month, spending more than $13 does not shorten the programme, it just moves the excess onto your card. Credit-limited offers die faster the harder you use them; capped offers do not — they bill you instead.

"Free VPS with GitHub Student Pack" — the honest answer

People search for this constantly. The honest answer is that the Pack does not contain a free VPS. It contains cloud credit, which is not the same thing: credit is a burn-down balance, and a VPS you leave running will consume it.

The closest thing inside the Pack is Azure's $100 credit, which will run a small Linux VM for a while and then disable your subscription.

What is actually free indefinitely

Outside the Pack, Oracle's documented Always Free tier is the only genuinely permanent free VPS I could verify: up to two VM.Standard.E2.1.Micro AMD instances (1 GB memory each), or 1,500 OCPU hours plus 9,000 GB hours per month of Arm Ampere A1 capacity, 200 GB of block volume, and 20 GB of object storage. Oracle's docs say these exist "for the life of the account." That is not a student offer and has nothing to do with GitHub — it just happens to be the real answer to the question people are asking.

For most student projects you do not want a VPS anyway. This site runs on Next.js + Supabase + Vercel with no server to patch, and Search Console shows about 390 indexed URLs on it — a static-plus-serverless setup carries a real content site fine. I wrote up what the free Vercel tier actually covers in Vercel's free tier for students, and the full free stack I run in the Student Pack stack: free domain, hosting and database.

What I could not verify, and I am saying so

  • Name.com and .TECH renewal prices. Name.com's partner page did not expose the terms and get.tech returned a 403 to my request. Both are listed as free on the Pack page; what happens in year two I do not know, so do not take my word for it.
  • Whether Namecheap asks for a card at signup. Their FAQ documents the $15/year renewal and the 30-day notice but not the signup requirement.
  • How long MongoDB's $50 lasts once applied. Their student page documents the 90-day code expiry but not the credit's own lifetime.
  • The exact length of GitHub Education validation. Community answers say two years; I could not find it stated on the docs page itself, so I am leaving it out rather than repeating it.

I checked all of this on one day. Offers change — DigitalOcean is the proof. Re-read the offers page before you build a plan around any row above.

Do the domain part carefully

The free domain is the offer with the longest tail of consequences, because a domain is the one thing you cannot casually swap later. Two things worth getting right on day one:

Pick a TLD you will still want in year three. The Namecheap bundle is .ME; Name.com gives you .dev and .app among others, which come with enforced HTTPS. Then point it at your host and set the canonical hostname correctly the first time — I got one constant wrong and it cost me three months of indexing, which I wrote up in the canonical hostname bug. If you are wiring the database side too, the Supabase and Vercel student setup covers the connection details.

FAQ

Is the GitHub Student Developer Pack actually free?

Yes, the Pack itself costs nothing. Individual offers inside it are a mix: some are free while you remain a verified student, several are credits with a fixed lifetime, and at least one domain offer auto-renews into a paid subscription. The table above splits them.

Does the GitHub Student Pack give you a free VPS?

No. As of 6 September 2026 there is no VPS offer on the Pack page. Azure's $100 credit can run a small VM until the credit is gone, at which point the subscription is disabled. If you specifically want a server that stays free, Oracle's Always Free tier is documented as permanent, but it is not part of the Pack.

Is Vercel in the GitHub Student Developer Pack?

No. Vercel has never appeared on the offers page and is not there now. What students use is Vercel's ordinary free Hobby tier, which is available to anyone and is not tied to student status.

What happens to my Student Pack offers when I graduate?

GitHub's documentation says you can reapply if you are still eligible, but that "some of our partner offers for GitHub Student Developer Pack cannot renew." Timed credits like Heroku's are explicitly one-shot: their terms say previous participants cannot reapply. Treat every credit as a coupon you spend once.

Building your first real project on the Student Pack and want it to actually get found? Free hosting is the easy part — the traffic is the work. See my services or get in touch.


Sources checked 6 September 2026: GitHub Student Developer Pack offers · Azure for Students · Heroku for GitHub Students · MongoDB for Students · Namecheap education FAQ · Appwrite Education · GitHub Docs: solving problems with your GitHub Education access · Oracle Cloud Always Free resources

Free resource

Get the AI Automation Playbook

The real architecture behind a 6-agent AI content team — what it saves, what it gets wrong, and the propose-then-approve pattern that makes it safe to trust.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Browse all free guides →

Run this on your own numbers

Content ROI & Payback Calculator — free, no signup, runs in your browser.

Open the calculator →

Want to implement this with guidance?

Santosh helps founders turn insights like this into real systems.

AI Content Systems

External Resources

Further Reading & Tools

Related Posts

01
12 min
SEOAutomation
YesterdayTechnical

llms.txt in Next.js: What Reads It and What Does Not

Google has not endorsed llms.txt and Ahrefs found 97% of them get zero requests. Here is why I ship one anyway, the two dead links my hand-written file was recommending, and the route handler that replaces it.

Read article
02
14 min
AutomationAI
YesterdayAI Workflow

Wiring GA4, Search Console and a CRM to MCP

Model Context Protocol lets a model query your analytics stack directly. What that actually buys you, a real tool definition, and the three places it breaks.

Read article
03
14 min
SEO StrategyContent Strategy
YesterdaySEO Strategy

Perplexity freshness and the publishing cadence maths

What is actually published about freshness in AI citations, where the two biggest datasets disagree, and the arithmetic for when refreshing an old page beats writing a new one.

Read article